New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Looking for love in Sweden. Ja talar svenska. Jag professor och dansare.

I am a balance between the intellect and the body. I am educated, and yet have been, for most of my life, also a ballet dancer. What most characterizes me is my strong sense of curiosity and adventure--learning new things all the time keeps me happy, and my compassion for others, keeps others happy! I live in Chicago, but would like to move to Sweden when I take early retirement. I'm resourceful and love to travel. I like learning about everything from rocks and fossils to politics and literature. I love animals of all kinds, and have fed tiny, wild birds in mid-winter, with a bird on each finger tip, eating from the palm of my hand. I have volunteered in animal shelters and aided in political campaigns. I love to cook (I have a great recipe for jalapeno honey dew soup--great for summer), to garden (Japanese irises and English roses), to listen to music of all kinds but especially piano sonata, to read (mostly novels in other languages), and to watch films (my favorites are Scandinavian Noir, Japanese films, and animé). I am nearly fluent in Swedish, and I also speak French, and some German. I've been to Europe many times, mostly to Great Britain, France, and Belgium (mostly to do research for the two books I have written). I have never married, only because the right person has not yet come along, but do believe he will, and I believe in committed relationships. I'm looking for a companion I can talk to about everything, someone who is not afraid to share all the details of his life. I'm looking love and a romantic, as well as a lover. Someone with whom I can share and explore. I like to laugh and have good times. I love beauty, order, and serenity--though a howling cat or a snarling dog has never brought out anything but compassion and tenderness from me.

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Signup Free Here

My Cat(s)

Does your cat live indoors or outdoors?Indoors
What is your cat's name?Puck and Pippa.
How old is your cat?13
Do you have other pets beside cat?Yes
If yes, which ones?The other cat, as I have two and your software allows for only one answer at a time.
Do you have more than one cat?Yes
What breed is your cat?Both are tuxedo tabblies (grey and black stripe with white paws and chests). They are technically American short-hair cats adopted from the Anti-Cruelty Society. They are 13 years old but still active and playful. Both are sweet and never scratch or bite. Pippa likes to pet me by running her claws through my hair, like I run my fingers through her fur. Puck is a sweetie who loves tummy rubs. He is large (about 20 pounds and over a yard long).
What gender is your cat?Male
Do you take your cat with you when you go on vacation?No
Your cat's favorite toyAn orange yarn mouse that each one uses to beg for attention (as if they don't get a lot already) by walking around with it in his or her mouth while howling. They drop it in my hand or at my feet.
Is it necessary that your partner also have a cat?No
Where did you get your cat from?Animal Shelter

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritageSwedish
BuildAthletic / toned
Height5' 5" (165 cm)
Eye ColorGreen
Hair ColorDark brown
Hair LengthShoulder length
Best featureEyes
Body ArtNone
Health ConditionNo special Health Conditions
My AttractivenessVery attractive

Situation

Relationship StatusSingle
Has childrenNo children
Wants kidsNo
Housing SituationAll is calm
Living ArrangementsWith pet(s)
Wants to RelocateYes
Have PetsCat
Has a carYes

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Doctorate
SpecialtyArt / Music / Literature
Employment StatusFull-time
Annual income$50,000 - $100,000
Job TitleAssociate Professor of English

Leisure & Fun

TV preferencesNews, Documentaries, Dramas, Movies, Science fiction
Favorite TV showsI stream all the TV shows I watch and they are all either French or Scandinavian (mostly Swedish or Danish). I like Beck, The Bridge, things along those lines--Scandinavian Noir.
Favorite movies typesScience fiction, Thriller
Favorite moviesI previously listed quite a few, but none were saved. So I will shorten to Brazil, Rashomon, Memento, The Heiress.
Music typesCountry, Classical, Folk
Favorite artistsClassical pianists: Brendel, Bavouzet, Gilels. Leonard Cohen.
Reading selectionNews, Biography, Fiction, History, Poetry, Science, Science fiction, I'm an author
Favorite booksNight Train to Lisbon; Cat's Eye; Austerlitz
Idea of funA concert, art exhibit, museum, then a meal. Gardening. Hiking and eating outdoors. Cooking at home and watching a film.
HobbiesMusic, Movies, Dancing, Dining, Theater, Gardening

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingDon't drink
Social behaviorFriendly
Friends describe asFriendly
In High School I was a(n)Quiet one
Sense of humorClever
My great timeStaying at home, Trying new things, The movies, Relaxing, Going to a concert, Going to a museum
Always wanted to tryBallroom dancing, but never have. Riding a motorcycle.

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionSpiritualist
Attend religious servicesOn holidays
Goal in lifeTo have touched people by inspiring those I have taught, to be a compassionate person, and to find someone to love.

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Good Looks, Humor, Great skills, Empathy, Sensitivity, Spontaneity, Wit, Thoughtfulness
Look for in a partnerSomeone who cares about others, including me, and not just himself. Someone who is not trying to compete with me, but appreciates me for who I am. Someone to talk to about everything. Someone who is thoughtful and sensitive. Humor goes a good ways. I like intelligence in someone, as long as it is used to educate rather than to take control. I like men who are romantic, who are good listeners, who think about me when I'm not around. I appreciate affection of all sorts. I like closeness and intimacy and do not fear it. I'm looking for someone who feels the same way. I would want to meet someone soon after making contact and not wait a long time talking on line. I want to know if there is any chemistry there.
On the first datePerhaps go for a long walk, talk about things that matter, and share a meal.